top of page
  • Writer's pictureJulia

Week 9: Building Tasks - Thursday-Friday

Besides finishing up our mobile website on Thursday, I also helped with a few building tasks that needed to be completed. The little details took much more time than expected, but we managed to finish up most of the things this week.

 

Thursday


On Thursday, Marijke brought the laser-cut QR codes, the engraved parts of which still needed to be filled in with black pens. I offered to continue with this task, because she was busy designing the flyers and the poster. Painting the QR codes took really long and at one point, the pen was empty and did not draw anymore.


Since Marijke had already finished the poster design and the coupons for de Broodbode, I decided to go to Ricoh and print them already. The more we already printed, the less we'd have to print on Friday or next week. After Ricoh, I also went to the city centre and bought two black Stabilo pens that we could use to keep colouring the QR codes.


For the rest of the day, I finished up the QR codes and helped Dzhulia a little with her work on the roses for the Nature N. She needed some helpers with holding the leaves to the branches so the glue would dry.

 

Friday


Friday started out with not so much work for me. I could not really help Dzhulia much with the roses or Marije with the gears, so I decided to start editing the timelapse that we still want to create for social media of the pedestal construction. But the lack of work should soon be replaced by stress. Besides the fact that everything went a lot slower than we had hoped for, I realised that the QR codes I had created were going to expire next Tuesday. Apparently, the site where I had created them had in fact offered me a free trial version of its service that expired after two weeks. Now this was a big problem, because on the grading day, the QR codes are not going to be valid any longer, which takes away a lot from our installation.


My team was not very happy about my mistake but I promised to fix it. I first created new QR codes on qrcode-monkey.com, then I saved them as PNG files. I opened them in Adobe Illustrator and transformed them into their outlines.

After consulting with Marije, I wanted to lasercut them at the Crazy Lab, but there was a long queue of people waiting for their stuff to be lasercut and I only had two hours left before Saxion closed. Therefore, I decided to go to the FabLab and do it there. The FabLab staff was really nice and helpful, and I got it done much quicker than I could have done it at the Crazy Lab. I am very relieved that I noticed and fixed my mistake on Friday, although I almost got into an argument with one of my team mates. But that is okay, we were both stressed out on these final days and we talked about it later and settled things. After the school closed, I spent the two hours on the way to Dortmund colouring all the new QR codes with the pens I had bought the day before. Dzhulia also helped me by taking over two QR codes for me.


4 views0 comments
bottom of page